Balay Mindanaw Awards 2016

Twenty barangays across Vis-Min shortlisted for Balay Mindanaw Awards

For outstanding community initiatives, land rights advocacy, resiliency projects, and peace dialogues, twenty barangays from across the Visayas and Mindanaw have been shortlisted for the very first Balay Mindanaw Awards.

Three barangays were shortlisted for the Kaangayan Award (Equity): Barangay Mimbuahan, Sugbongcogon, Misamis Oriental; Barangay San Vicente, Sumilao, Bukidnon; Barangay Tubo-Tubo, Cagwait, Surigao Sur.

For the Kalambuan Award (Development), five barangays were shortlisted: Barangay Gusa, Cagayan de Oro City;Barangay Lawaan, Gingoog City; Barangay Lumbia, Cagayan de Oro City; Barangay Marita, President Roxas, Capiz;Barangay New Panay, Aleosan, North Cotabato.

Five barangays were shortlisted for the Kalinaw Award (Peace): Barangay Diatagon, Lianga, Surigao Sur; Barangay Dunguan, Aleosan, North Cotabato; Barangay Pagangan, Aleosan, North Cotabato; Barangay Tuburan, Cagayan de Oro City; Barangay Mahayahay, Sultan Naga Dimaporo, Lanao del Norte.

Lastly, seven barangays were shortlisted for the Kalig-on Award (Resiliency): Barangay Ban-ao, Baganga, Davao Oriental; Barangay Macasandig, Cagayan de Oro City; Barangay Manipolon, Estancia, Iloilo Province; Barangay Mat-e, Cagwait, Surigao Sur; Barangay Pinamihagan, President Roxas, Capiz; Barangay Tawagan, Cagwait, Surigao Sur, Barangay Carmen, Cagayan de Oro City.

“These barangays have very good initiatives in their respective areas. Others are long time partners who continue to fight for their land rights or push for peace and dialogues. Some are new but very active in pursuing resiliency mechanisms,” said Balay Mindanaw Awards project lead Belle Garcia-Hernandez.

The award is organized by the Balay Mindanaw Group (BMG), a Mindanao-based non-profit organization that engages in promoting equity-based development and sustainable peace efforts, to celebrate its 20th founding anniversary this year.

The Balay Mindanaw Awards seeks to recognize the outstanding partner communities the BMG has worked with over the years in the fields of equity (Kaangayan Award), development (Kalambuan Award), peace (Kalinaw Award), and resiliency (Kalig-on Award).

“We look forward to visiting each of the finalist barangays, so we can meet with their community leaders and learn about their specific achievements in building empowered, sustainable, resilient, and peaceful communities,” said Balay Mindanaw Awards Chairman of the board of judges, Edicio dela Torre.

Visits to the shortlisted barangays will be conducted by the Balay Mindanaw team, to prepare for the deliberation phase. The finalist barangays will then be visited by the panel of judges for the final deliberation. The Council of Judges is chaired by Ed Dela Torre and co-chaired by Archbishop Antonio Ledesma.

The panel of judges for each award category is as follows: Victor Gerardo Bulatao chairs the Kaangayan Award, with co-chairs Ma. Corazon Gaite-Llanderal and Jose Noel Olano. The Kalambuan Award is chaired by Sylvia Okinlay-Paraguya, with co-chairs Teodorico Pena and Ariel Hernandez.

Archbishop Antonio Ledesma chairs the Kalinaw Award, with co-chair Charlito Manlupig and Emma Leslie. Lastly, David Langworthy chairs the Kalig-on Award, with co-chairs Jane Langworthy, Goldelino Chan, and Ramon Chua.

The following criteria will be used to assess the achievements of shortlisted barangays: impact (20%); leadership and community participation (15%); innovation (15%); sustainability (15%); replicability (15%); efficiency (15%); other criteria (5%).

Deliberations for shortlisted barangays will begin on April 29, and the finalists will be announced on May 8. The awarding, presentation, exhibition, and celebration of winners will be held in time with the Balay Mindanaw Days celebration from May 26 to 28, 2016.

Share this post

Share on facebook
Share on google
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on pinterest
Share on print
Share on email